JRN 450 Reflection

Over the course of the fall semester, I have been pushed to unthinkable measures in my JRN 450-public relations writing class. Twice a week, I would walk into JRN 450 not knowing what I was going to do. At first, I hated the feeling of the unknown. Now that I look back, I greatly appreciate it. Professor Wojcik showed me that I can make it in the public relations world. There are multiple areas of writing I improved in and I gained professional skills the career center cannot offer. Below, I will explain the top 3 take aways from my semester in JRN 450 and how it shaped my life for the better!

        1. The Portfolio

At the beginning of the semester, the class was told we would complete a professional portfolio comprised of various components. Within my portfolio were multiple letters of recommendation, writing samples, designs, certificates, resume and even my academic schedule. This maroon colored, leather binder is the number one project I completed throughout my college career so far. I am proud to show employers what I am capable of and what I can do for them, with the work I compiled together. Working on this assignment for multiple weeks, going home to get certain papers and spending long hours at the library was all worth it to see the final outcome. I also was able to take my portfolio to my first interview for an internship this summer, and it was great to see the interviewers impressed by my work.

        2. Not Your Normal Motivational Speeches 

In many of my classes, professors will give students a few life lessons throughout the course. I usually appreciate this to some degree. However, some professors go on tangents and the class ends up wasting valuable time. What is incredible about JRN 450 is how Professor Wojcik has used portions of class time to explain important life lessons within the public relations field, and every single word is wisdom coming straight from the heart. Our last class was specifically about important skills needed to be learned before graduating. How great is it to have a public relations writing class where the professor can teach you how to write in AP style at the same time as teach you the importance of financial decisions! Not only do I feel confident in my ability to write, but I feel confident in my ability to be a successful woman in the career field.

3. A Sense of Pride 

Getting my first grade back in this class was not easy for me to deal with at first. School is something I have excelled in my entire life, and up until this class I have truly not been pushed to my limit. As my professor would say, he wants us to feel the hockey game going on in our stomaches. Every time I received a  new assignment, I would remember the feedback given to me previously and I would be sure not to make the same mistake twice. I have created pieces such as a newsletter, brochure, media advisory and press release from scratch. This is  something for me to be truly proud of. I have created writing pieces that professionals are making and that is because of what I learned in JRN 450. Next year I will be graduating and I feel one step closer to being ready for the work force.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

