PSC 105L-Intro to American Government and Politics

Currently I am enrolled in this class and I have not taken an American Government class since high school, so it has been somewhat of shaking off the cobwebs when it comes to learning the material. Thomas Stewart is the professor who is currently attempting to teach me the ways of the American Government. Which let me tell you, is definitely not an easy task. My expertise is definitely not dealing with government issues.

What I can say though is that I have learned that as a U.S. citizen, it is my duty to become educated in the laws of the nation I live in. As well, it is election season and it is my duty to research who the best candidates are. I am 20 years old, and I truly now understand the importance of our government and what it means to be a U.S. citizen.

The class, which I attend twice a week is based on what has happened in our country’s past as well as what is currently happening right now. This includes things such as checks and balances, the jobs of each branch of government, or what each part of the Constitution means.

Having this class has taught me that it is not always the worst idea to take a class that you normally would not have any interest in. My classes for my major make me excited to go to class and classes like these initially are not exciting for me. However, this has been a huge learning experience for me and I am very grateful that I was required to take this course. Especially since the election season is currently upon us, I find it very educational that I am being taught how much my vote means. It might also help that he is fairly liberal. Oops, did I just type that? Why yes, yes I did.

Leave a Reply

