HDF 110

Oppression:Roots & Impact

This class has honestly been the most impactful class that I have taken since being at Central Michigan University. Diversity plays a large role in my life, since coming to college. I have a very diverse friend group, and I did not realize the large part that oppression plays in minorities lives until I witnessed it for myself. This class puts everything into perspective. From socioeconomic status, religion, location, etc., oppression effects individuals all across the world.

I come from a very small farm town so there is not much diversity. Coming to college has shown me that there are so many things that make people unique and that the campus that I attend is truly diverse.

Going back to socioeconomic status, minority groups have to deal with so much more when it comes to getting a job, buying or house, or even getting paid. Red lining occurred which is still causing issues today and i can honestly say that my friends have experienced this since where they live now is an outcome of this directly.

My professor has had personal experiences and I think that definitely played a large part. When a professor is speaking form he heart, you can see it in their heart when the topic they are teaching is something that has effected their lives. Good job Central Michigan University at picking this professor and class requirement, you succeeded.

Leave a Reply

