HST 110L WI Reflection

So you are probably wondering what HST 110L WI stands for. Well it stands for History 110 Leadership, which is a writing intensive course. The key word to the title of this class was writing intensive because every assignment was fully revolved around writing. This class is also a requirement for Leader Advancement Scholars. I took the class  with almost my entire cohort. History was never my strong suite so the fact that I have to go to this class every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday a 10 A.M.  Now I know what you are probably thinking; “At least it is not an 8 am”, but when you do not understand what is occurring it can be difficult at times to go to class. Although I did not enjoy the course, the professor is actually an enjoyable person to talk to! She has much interest for George Washington and definitely knows her history!

AmericaSo what did I actually learn in this history class? Well, I would say that the main thing I took away from this course is how important the leaders in our country’s history used their leadership skills to accomplish great things for out nation as a whole. Relating leadership to people who made huge movement for our country is truly incredible to learn about and how the United States of America was shaped into the great nation we have today.

Now, what will I do with this newly founding knowledge of U.S. History? Most likely, I will take what I learned about certain leaders, such as presidents and movement/policy makers, and put that towards efforts in my own life. I also now know that sometimes the road to accomplish something might take shorter or longer than expected, you just never truly know. History has never truly been my strong suit in school, but I can honestly say I have become a stronger student from the class and have been humbled as a freshman in college. Thanks Professor Tobin, you have shaped me into a more well-rounded student!

Leave a Reply

