Alpha Leadership.AKA.Lazers Assemble

image1(1)

One of the greatest Alpha Leaders

As a freshman obtaining the leadership advancement scholarship, it is a requirement to go through the Alpha Leadership experience in your first year of college. I had the opportunity to take it my very first semester since it fit within my class schedule. I am a “Leadership nerd” when it comes to getting young leaders in one area and just feeding off of each other, so it’s fair to say I was more than excited to be able to go through Alpha. The duration of Alpha Leadership was a six week period in which every Thursday night in Powers Hall. I was put in the Green Machines with two amazing leaders. Every week I learned something new about myself and my leadership skills. I tested myself, and I found out that I am a very “spirited” leader. This makes since to me in many ways because I am always encouraging others to do their best in what ever it may be and I look at the positives in situations. Throughout the course I also learned multiple skills; proper communication, listening abilities, staying calming, and accepting other peoples’ views. At the end of it all, I came to the conclusion that throughout my life I want to stay connected to leadership learning communities,  because things like the Alpha Leadership Experience truly bring out the best in people.

Leave a Reply

